Secretary of State

We assume you are here because you are interested in forming or maintaining a corporation or limited liability company. The Secretary of State of a given state, through a division or department, usually handles corporation and limited liability company filings (including original filings, amendments and periodic reports) for that particular state.  As is demonstrated in the next paragraph, however, there are a substantial number of states where these functions are the responsibility of a different agency of state government.  Furthermore, pleasing the state agency responsible for such filings is only part of the battle: a new entity, even if its articles are filed by the state agency, must comply with the state securities ("blue sky") laws, which are almost always administered by a different state agency, before issuing its stock to the stockholders or membership interests to the members. Finally, clearance by these state agencies is no guarantee that what has been done will pass muster in the courts in the event of litigation between private parties. Courts occasionally disregard the corporate entity and find the participants individually liable for company debts, or find that the participants have civil (or perhaps even criminal) liability for violation of the securities laws.

Bearing these considerations in mind, the state information we have provided below is for the actual agency of state government responsible for dealing with such filings. Where the state is a hyperlink, we provide additional information with respect to that particular state which we think will be helpful. We hope to expand the number of hyperlinks and, as a result, the amount of helpful information available. The goal is to limit confusion with respect to who to contact about the preliminary steps involved in business entity formation and maintenance.

As examples of that confusion, you will not find business entity formation information under the Secretary of State in Alaska, Arizona, the District of Columbia, Hawaii, Maryland, Michigan, New Jersey, New Mexico, Utah, Virginia or Wisconsin, and several other states (including Florida, New York and Pennsylvania) refer to the state agency as the Department of State, rather than the Secretary of State.

This Website Sponsored By


Incorporate: - The Inc. Link ®
Form LLC: - The LLC Link ®
Trademarks: - The TM Link SM

State Information  

ALABAMA Secretary of State

Corporations Division
P.O. Box 5616
Montgomery, AL 36103-5616

MONTANA Secretary of State

P.O. Box 202801
Helena, MT 59620


State of Alaska
Department of Community and
Economic Development
P.O. Box 110808
Juneau, AL 99811

NEBRASKA Secretary of State

Corporations Division
P.O. Box 94608
Lincoln, NE 68509


Arizona Corporation Commission
Incorporating Division
1300 West Washington
Phoenix, AZ 85007-2929

NEVADA Secretary of State

101 North Carson Street, Suite 3
Carson City, NV 89701

ARKANSAS Secretary of State

Corporations Division
Little Rock, AR 72201-1094

NEW HAMPSHIRE Secretary of State

Corporation Division
107 North Main Street
Concord, NH 03301

CALIFORNIA Secretary of State

Corporations Section
1500 11th Street
Sacramento, CA 95814


Department of the Treasury
Division of Revenue
P.O. Box 308
Trenton, NJ 08625

COLORADO Secretary of State

1560 Broadway, Suite 200
Denver, CO 80202-5169


Public Regulation Commission
Corporations Bureau
P.O. Drawer 1269
Santa Fe, NM 87504-1269

CONNECTICUT Secretary of State

Commercial Recording Division
30 Trinity Street
Hartford, CT 06106


Department of State
Division of Corporations
41 State Street
Albany, NY 12231

DELAWARE Secretary of State

Department of State
Division of Corporations
Townsend Building
P.O. Box 898
Dover, DE 19903

NORTH CAROLINA Secretary of State

Corporations Division
Raleigh, NC 27626


941 North Capitol Street,NE
Washington, DC 20002

NORTH DAKOTA Secretary of State

Bismark, ND 58505

FLORIDA Department of State

Division of Corporations
P.O. Box 6327
Tallahassee, FL 32314

OHIO Secretary of State

30 East Broad Street
Columbus, OH 43266-0418

GEORGIA Secretary of State

Corporations Division
2 Martin Luther King Drive
Suite 315, West Tower
Atlanta, GA 30334

OKLAHOMA Secretary of State

101 State Capitol
Oklahoma City, OK 73105


P.O. Box 40
Honolulu, HA 96813

OREGON Secretary of State

Corporation Division
255 Capitol Street NE
Salem, OR 97310

IDAHO Secretary of State

P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720


Department of State
Corporation Bureau
P.O. Box 8722
Harrisburg, PA 17105

ILLINOIS Secretary of State

501 South 2nd Street,Suite 328 Springfield, IL 62756

RHODE ISLAND Secretary of State

Corporations Division
100 N. Main Street
Providence, RI 02903

INDIANA Secretary of State

302 W. Washington St., Rm E018
Indianapolis, IN 46204

SOUTH CAROLINA Secretary of State

P.O. Box 11350
Columbia, SC 29211

IOWA Secretary of State

Des Moines, IA 50319

SOUTH DAKOTA Secretary of State

500 E. Capitol
Pierre, SD 57501

KANSAS Secretary of State

Corporations Division
120 S.W. 10th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612

TENNESSEE Secretary of State

Division of Business Services
312 Eighth Avenue North
Nashville, TN 37243

KENTUCKY Secretary of State

700 Capitol Avenue Suite 152
Frankfort, KY 40601

TEXAS Secretary of State

Corporations Section
P.O. Box 13697
Austin, Texas 78711

LOUISIANA Secretary of State

P.O. Box 94125
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9125


Department of Commerce
SM Box 146705
Salt Lake City, UT 84114

MAINE Secretary of State

Department of Incorporation
101 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0101

VERMONT Secretary of State

Corporations Division
81 River Street, Drawer 09
Montpelier, VT 05609-1104


301 W. Preston St., Room 801
Baltimore, MD 21201


Commonwealth of Virginia
Virginia State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197
Richmond, VA 23218

MASSACHUSETTS Secretary of the Commonwealth

Secretary of the Commonwealth
Corporations Division
1 Ashburton Place, 17th Floor
Boston, MA 02108

WASHINGTON Secretary of State

P.O. Box 40234
Olympia, WA 98504


State of Michigan
Dept of Consumer and Industry Services.
P.O. Box 30054
Lansing, MI 48909

WEST VIRGINIA Secretary of State

Corporations Division
Bldg. 1,Suite 157-K
1900 Kawanaha Blvd. E.
Charleston, WV 25305

MINNESOTA Secretary of State

180 State Office Building
St. Paul, MN 55155


DCCS, P.O. Box 7846
Madison, WI 53707

MISSISSIPPI Secretary of State

Secretary of State
P.O. Box 136
Jackson, MS 39205

WYOMING Secretary of State

State Capitol Bldg.
Cheyenne, WY 82002

MISSOURI Secretary of State

P.O. Box 778
Jefferson City, MO 65102

(c) Copyright 2008, LawyerAgents LLC. This web site was created with and is sponsored by private funding. It is not associated with, endorsed by, affiliated with or approved by any government agency. Neither the sponsor of this web site, Milliken PLC, nor LawyerAgents LLC is associated with or approved by any government agency.